Professors Roald Hoffmann and Frank Wilczek named Honorary Trustees of the Kosciuszko Foundation

Prof. Roald Hoffmann

The Kosciuszko Foundation is pleased to announce that the Board of Trustees elected Nobel Prize-winning scientist Professors Roald Hoffmann and Frank Wilczek as Honorary Trustees of the Foundation.

Roald Hoffmann was born in 1937 in Zloczow, Poland. Having survived the war, he came to the U.S. in 1949, and studied chemistry at Columbia and Harvard Universities (Ph.D. 1962). Since 1965 he is at Cornell University, now as the Frank H. T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters. He has received many of the honors of his profession, including the 1981 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (shared with Kenichi Fukui).

In addition to his achievements as a scientists, Prof. Hoffmann is also an accomplished poet and playwright. Among his published works are The Metamict State (1987), Gaps and Verges (1990), Memory Effects (1999), Soliton (2002), and most recently, in Spanish, Catalista. MORE

 Prof. Hoffmann is an Honorary Advisory Member of the Kosciuszko Foundation Collegium of Eminent Scientists. In 2016 he gave an inaugural lecture starting the Collegium’s lecture series (in the picture), and on December 3, 2020 he moderated a panel discussion between Prof. Maria Siemionow, Prof. Keiko Kawashima and Ms. Susan Quinn during the Foundation’s webinar Maria Sklodowska Curie – A Pioneer for Women in Science?

 Watch the recording of the webinar HERE


Prof. Frank Wilczek

Frank Wilczek is an eminent American physicist of Polish-Italian origin. In 2004, together with Hugh David Politzer and David Gross, he won the Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction. Wilczek received a B.S. at the University of Chicago in 1970, and a Ph.D. in physics at Princeton University in 1974. Currently he is the Herman Feshbach professor of physics at the MIT; Founding Director of the T.D. Lee Institute and Chief Scientist at Wilczek Quantum Center, Shanghai Jiago Tong University; Distinguished Professor at Arizona State University; and Professor at Stockholm University.

In 2012 Prof. Wilczek was conferred with an honorary doctorate of the Jagiellonian University. In February 2019 the Jagiellonian University Senate adopted a resolution to establish the Frank Wilczek Award. The $12,000 prize is awarded biannually to young Polish scientists who have made a significant discovery in physics, astronomy or related fieldsis. It is funded by the JU Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science and the Kościuszko Foundation, and Prof. Frank Wilczek and the Dean of JU Faculty of Physcis, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science are the award patrons.

Prof. Frank Wilczek is an Honorary Advisory Board Member of the KF Collegium of Eminent Scientists, and a recipient of the KF Medal of Recognition which was presented to him during the KF Ball in 2012 (in the picture with wife Betsy Devine). MORE

The Board of Trustees of the Kosciuszko Foundation may elect as Honorary Trustees persons who have distinguished themselves by their efforts and achievements in strengthening cultural, academic and scientific relations between the United States and Poland and persons, who have rendered substantial and significant support to promote the purposes, programs, and objectives of the Foundation.

The Kosciuszko Foundation |